Atrivo, McColo and now Ecatel

"First we take Atrivo, then we take McColo".
And then we take Ecatel.

And no, I am in no way included in "we" above.

Tiscali, HEnet and GBLX and others apparently cut the wires to Ecatel.

I earlier wrote about a tiny little part of the paysystem for child abusers, pay.aspire-systems.biz.
When McColo went down, they popped up at Ecatel.

There is a thread over at webhostingtalk right now about Ecatel having trouble.

This one supposedly came from Ecatel today, according to a post (page 7 of the thread):

Dear customer,

Two of our main transit lines were cut off without any warning because of many
copyright infringements and spamming from our network.

We proved over and over again that there was no spamming out of our network, they
just laughed at us.
Normally it would take more than 5 working days to find alternative connections,
however after having put in more than 24 hours of solid trying, we?ve managed to get
back on line again via other operators.

Ecatel did EVERYTHING to get this issue solved at soon as possible.

We sincerely apologize to all our faithful customers for all inconvenience caused.

Best regards,
Network Operations
ECATEL (NETHERLANDS) LIMITED.

Note that they don't comment on "copyright infringements".
And they of course don't mention their support to child abusers.
Nor the malware or the forum and guestbookspammers coming from their network.

Spamhaus has a few listings:
http://www.spamhaus.org/sbl/listings.lasso?isp=ecatel.net

Let's hope it is permanent.

Who's next?
Leaseweb? Keyweb? Russia? Ukraine?
I have forgotten all the names, there are too many dirty hosts and countries out there.
Maybe taking a couple of continents too? South-America and Asia would be a relief.
Can I pick three, please?

Anyway, following the the criminal scumbags and their money and take down whoever supports them seems like a good strategy.

And I love this one:

Ecatel, no issues

No issues? That must be for their intranet.

Comments

Ecatel?

Got a referrer spam from 3asym0n3y1td.inf0 (redid that a bit) - the IP was in the blacklist for commentspamming and illegal activity (rule breaker), but this is new with referrer spamming too.

Time:
11-15-09 @11:05:59 AM

IP:
89.248.172.98

...the interesting part here is that the referrer spam link was to a top level domain, not a subdomain or something like that. And the site itself is some kind of spoofed Blog. Seems to have been running for a while.

I belive if someone claims it is part of RBN - yes. Everything screams to me this is scamming, harvesting and a lot more. Listed on projecthoneypot.org, stopforumspam.com for comment/forumspamming - and several other lists too.

/RJ

Another commentform-/guestbookspammer using Ecatel

Here is a search for another comment/guestbookspammer from ecatel:
pikatorov1298
Maybe it is the same one, I don't know. This one is spamming legalmoneynow. info.

2.270 hits as I write this.

Seems like t's one and the same

Combining the search string terms (fx. the IP I added) should give some kind of conclusion.

I haven't digged deeper than a few Google/WhoIs look ups, but how long those sites survive at Ecatel, and their date of creation, is some how interesting. I will be surprised if noone has ever complained over those sites (or the owners) to the hoster.

The question for me is, if I should block all Ecatel addresses, it is a big hoster for what i know. Sounds tempting at this moment, though.

/RJ

Finally lost patiense

I finally lost patiense with the Ecatel Network. Having had extensive spamming from this hoster over the last days (see later), I blocked all the ranges. No offend to Dutch people in general, but it seems like a LOT of spamming coming from that country. You should try be more observant on who and how your Internet companies behave, because it will affect the image of that country (I have already blocked almost all Russia and China for that very same reason)

URL to latest Ecatel spamming addresses:
http://www.stopforumspam.com/search?q=94.102.63.

...anyways, thanks for sharing your knowledge on this company on your site - and I am on the move ;)